A big day

June 20, 2006

I just got finished writing the final words for the second edition of my crisis management book called Now Is Too Late2. The first edition was published in late 2002 and this should roll off the presses probably late July. 

It's a real relief to get the updating and editing done. Just wrote the acknowledgements and foreword. I took the opportunity more than is usually taken to extend my appreciation to a great many people who contributed not only to the book, but the business I am invovled in and my own life. At the age of 54, you're never certain when you might run out of chances to say thanks to the people who mean the world to you.

 Realizing that most of the readers of this blog (few but growing), may not ever read the book, I will be talking about some of the ideas and concepts in this blog quite a bit. And of course, as I mentioned earlier, working on ideas for my next book project.

Just in case you may be interested, let me know and I will send you a copy of the new edition as soon as it comes off the press.

The message of the book can be distilled down to two words: speed and directness. In this world of public information, if you aren't prepared to communicate very quickly and very directly to the people who care the most, you will find that you are too late, and being too late can be deadly. More and more I am adding the word honesty to those two. We are already at a point when the public has little to not patience with the typical PR and corporate speak. The blogging style is driving and will drive corporate communications into a new era. I added two new chapters to this edition specifically on this–one called Blogwars and the other called the Ultimate Communicator. Blogging is far more important already than most people even in the communication business realize. And one impact is putting more and more focus at the person at the top. It is from him or her that people expect to hear and they expect the message to be personal, authentic and absolutely no BS. That a simple way of putting something that is very significant in terms of communication strategy. but its all I have time for today.

One Response to “A big day”

  1. Steve Says:

    Life is a tragedy for those who feel, and a comedy for those who think.

    Tragedy OR Comedy – Which is you pick?. It\’s all depends on how you act? So be rational to keep on laughing…


Comments are closed.

