The Vancouver BC taser death–cell phone video vs. the police

October 16, 2007

I commented the other day about the use of cell phone videos in news. Suddenly there are millions of reporters out there. Now, another news story shows how these reporting devices are impacting the new and communications. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police tasered a man at the Vancouver BC airport after he got out of control. He died. The police said they tasered him twice. But, the news program I just watched showed an airport patron with a cellphone video who said the police tasered him four times. Oops. Now, I’m not ready to say the person with the cell video is right and the RCMP is wrong. But let’s say they are. Oops. Credibility? Lost. And that is something you can never afford to lose.

So, warning to communicators. Make sure what you say is true. Because there are a million–no, hundreds of millions of eyes out there. They know how to get their videos on tv and a whole lot of them know how to get them on YouTube too. The battle for who is to be believed has never changed since the days of Aristotle. But the technology to dispute or prove has never been so ubiquitous. The age of transparency.

3 Responses to “The Vancouver BC taser death–cell phone video vs. the police”

  1. Steve Reno Says:

    I watched & listened to the video-sounds like 3-4 shots to me.

  2. Angie Says:

    I have a heath condition and my mom’s family including herself are directly from Poland so she could understand what the man said. All he said was, “where are they?” as his family was late picking him up! I can imagine how devastated they were! My mom’s family came to BC as well as that is typically the Province people from Poland go to. I can imagine there will be less immigration now as the word gets out “If you don’t speak English don’t come to canada!!”

    Very nice indeed!

    I think the cops / RCMP & border country of this country are now so high on their own power that they use accessive force without hesitation anymore in the name of protecting country! I never thought canada would become like the USA!!

    Even in my own province, the border detains an ambulance with a heart attack victim inside where he was on his way to an American hospital for very important needed surgery!

    I am now scared to live in the country I live in! Things are going down hill FAST!! And the word is OUT!!

  3. Angie Says:

    by the way the 3rd and 4th shots were at the SAME TIME and that is why it is hard to distinguish if it was 3 or 4.


Comments are closed.

