What did I say about Microsoft and Google–Microsoft offers $44b for Yahoo

February 1, 2008

Yesterday I posted about Microsoft’s global reputation at the top of the heap in two of the latest corporate reputation surveys–Edelman and Cision. I commented that Microsoft’s stunning improvement, compared to their serious trashing about five years ago–had more to do with Google’s ascendance than anything else. I suggested that it was the technical literati who understood how serious the Google threat was and this threat rapidly removed the monopoly fears and hatred of the software giant’s power, which resulted in rapidly improved reputation scores. Now Microsoft is trying to buy Yahoo–perhaps the only serious (somewhat) challenger to Google’s hegemony over search and ad related search. Story in NYTimes.

So, what do you think of that? Do Microsoft and Yahoo together make an overwhelming force–so much that Google is now in trouble and that therefore the shift of reputation follows? I doubt it. And that in itself is a credit to Google’s incredible position which is partly related to the founder’s vision of “organizing the world’s information.”

What worries me about Microsoft (as a longtime shareholder I might add) is that the vision was crystal clear before. I even had Bill himself explain it to me on a flight (in coach) to San Jose in 1983. It was to bring the power of computing to the masses. How does the Yahoo purchase help accomplish this mission? Not real clear to me. In fact, if I look at who is accomplishing the Microsoft mission more than Microsoft I would have to say Apple. And with the iphone perhaps even more than with the Macs.

2 Responses to “What did I say about Microsoft and Google–Microsoft offers $44b for Yahoo”

  1. terileavens Says:

    Interesting post. I don’t foresee Microsoft’s acquisition of Yahoo as a huge threat to Google at all. I don’t believe the brand power exists. I think Microsoft is still strong, but it’s strengths lie in software. Google’s not in the software business. It will be interesting to see how they use Yahoo in their overall plan.

  2. gbaron Says:

    Not sure I agree that Google isn’t in the software business. Have you tried their free online word processing and spreadsheet applications?


Comments are closed.

