On being thankful

November 25, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! As I try to clean up my messy desk and head home for my wife’s wonderful thanksgiving feast–sharing it with all kids, their spouses and seven wonderful grandchildren, plus brothers, sisters, parents, nephews, nieces and on and on, I can’t help but express a bit of gratitude.

While I haven’t read Mitch Albom’s new book “Have a Little Faith” I heard him on a radio talk show and the host asked him the secret to happiness and if it was in the book. It is, and it was spoken by a dying rabbi if I recall the story. It was simply: be grateful for what you have. Sadly, we spend most of our waking lives thinking about what we don’t have, being miserable as we compare ourselves with others, working our behinds off to get ahead so we can have “just a little more,” and generally being cranky and unhappy because things don’t always go our way as we pursue the always just out of reach goal of contentment by grabbing onto the next hope.

I’m so glad for this day and that our leaders had the wisdom to set aside a day to think about all that we have rather than what we don’t have. I know that if I do a better job of practicing the discipline of gratitude some of the coldness and bitterness that too easily enters my heart and life will melt away.

Wishing all of you a very grateful and content Thanksgiving Day!

