Virtual communications

February 19, 2010

The last couple of days have very much put into practice many of the things I’ve been talking about here for a long time. Having been directly involved on public communicatio in a major, fast breaking news story I can draw a couple of conclusions: 1. virtual communication response works very well. A team distributed in various locations can indeed support an on scene PIO.
2. News today is indeed driven by social media and Twitter in particular. Monitoring social media is now critical for the response manager’s situation awareness– as I discussed recently on emergencymgt.com crisis comm blog.

I will provide more details about this event and behind scenes communication when I don’t have to do it from an iPhone in an airport.

One Response to “Virtual communications”

  1. Boyd Neil Says:

    Looking forward to the full “report”.


Comments are closed.

